Congratulations to the 2013 Merit Scholars

Chatham May 23, 2013– Research & Development Council of New Jersey (R&D Council) announced its selection of sixteen Merit Scholars for 2013.  Each year, the R&D Council awards scholarships to outstanding community college students studying in a STEM (science, technology, engineering or math) field. To become a Merit Scholar, applicants must have a 3.5 GPA or greater, a STEM major, extracurricular activities, financial need and post-graduation career goals.

“This class of applicants impressed me with their poise, determination and drive,” said Christos Christodoulatos, scholarship committee member and Vice-Provost of Innovation and Entrepreneurship at Stevens Institute of Technology. “It is very clear to us these deserving students will continue to be successful as they pursue their academic goals.”

The selection of the Merit Scholars is made by a select committee of senior representatives from industry, academia, and government – all members of the R&D Council. The scholarship funds are made available through donations by the Council member organizations.  This year, the contributing members are:  Bristol-Myers Squibb, ExxonMobil, Honeywell, Montclair State University, Novartis Pharmaceutical Corporation, Roche, Rutgers University, Sabinsa Corporation, and Stevens Institute of Technology.

“These accomplished young people are the key to a bright future of research and development in New Jersey,” said Ian Shankland, Chairman of the Board of Director and Vice-President and Chief Technology Officer at Honeywell Performance Materials and Technologies. “New Jersey can and should be proud of the talent pool of STEM educated individuals in the state. The Council wants to support these students so they can continue to feed that pipeline of talent that is so necessary for our industries in the future”

The 2013 Merit Scholars are:

Bergen Community College, Edith Carpio (Biology), Elizaveta Kulko (Natural Science and Math)

Brookdale Community College, Alex Spence (Mathematics and Engineering), Mary Menges (Computer Science and Mathematics)

Camden County College, Ryan Bentz (Engineering Science)

Mercer County College, Michael McNulty (Mathematics and Physics)

Middlesex County College, Joseph Powell (Engineering Science), Moya Stewart-Gray (Nursing), Paola Calero (Allied Health Pre-Professional), Zuri Ramos (Allied Health Pre-Professional)

Sussex County Community College, Theresa Kucinski (Chemistry)

Union County College, Carlos Arias-Miranda (Engineering), Diana Lourenco (Biology), Ghislain Youdom (Computer Science and Engineering), Gian Baquerizo (Information Science Technology), Sara Yusim (Architecture)

This August, the Merit Scholars will attend a luncheon at a Council member’s research facility to cultivate further interest in their field of study and strengthen their relationship with the R&D community.  All recipients will have an opportunity to meet prominent New Jersey-based researchers and innovators in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.  During their visit, two panel discussions will take place, one focusing on pursing a STEM education and the other focusing on pursing a STEM career.  The R&D Council’s 34rd Thomas Alva Edison Patent Awards Ceremony & Reception to be held on November 7, 2013 will also recognize the sixteen Merit Scholars.