R&D Council Honors 2014 Patent Award Winners and Special Individuals

Full Release R&D Council Honors Winners of 2014 Patent Awards

The Research & Development Council of New Jersey will honor the winners of the 2014 Thomas Edison Patent Awards tonight at the 35th Edison Patent Awards Ceremony & Reception. Nearly 50 inventors and 13 New Jersey companies and universities will be recognized this evening.

Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, Avaya, BASF, Colgate-Palmolive Company, ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company, Honeywell, Immunomedics, Merck, NJIT, Novartis, Siemens Corporate Technology, TE Connectivity SubCom, and U.S. Army ARDEC will be acknowledged for innovative patent work spanning thirteen R&D categories, including biotechnology, communications technology, consumer products, defense, enabling technology, energy, environmental, industrial process, information technology, materials technology, pharmaceutical formulation, pharmaceutical process,  and telecommunications.

“The Council is delighted to honor this year’s incredible leaders of innovation with the 2014 Edison Patent Awards,” said Kathleen Scotto, Ph.D., Research & Development Council of New Jersey Chairwoman and Vice-Chancellor for Research, Rutgers Biomedical Health Sciences and Dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. “Every year, the nominees impress the Council with their inventions that contribute to New Jersey’s long-standing reputation for excellence in research and development.”

The R&D Council will also honor chemical engineer and co-inventor of the three-way catalytic converter, John J. Mooney; the Chairman, President and CEO of PSEG, Ralph Izzo, Ph.D.; and the 20th Rutgers University President Robert Barchi, M.D., Ph.D., for their unique contributions to the state’s STEM economy.

John J. Mooney will receive the R&D Council’s highest award, the Science & Technology Medal. This medal is awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions to the advancement of science and technology, while successfully bringing innovation from the laboratory to the marketplace. Mr. Mooney receives this award for co-inventing the three-way catalytic converter, an invention recognized in the top ten most important automobile innovations.  Mr. Mooney has spent his entire life in New Jersey and contributing to the STEM economy.  Born and raised in Paterson, Mr. Mooney worked for PSE&G while attending Seton Hall University where he received his Bachelor in Science in Chemistry, after which he obtained a Master of Science in Chemical Engineering from NJIT, and later, an MBA from Fairleigh Dickinson University.  Before retiring, Mr. Mooney worked for Engelhard Industries, now the Catalysts division of BASF, for 43 years. In 2002, the president of the United States awarded Mr. Mooney with the National Medal of Technology, the nation’s highest honor for science and technology.

PSEG Chairman, President and CEO Dr. Ralph Izzo will receive the Chairman’s Award. Dr. Izzo was selected for his leadership in the utility industry as well as the public policy arena. With a doctorate degree in physics, he is frequently asked to testify before Congress and speak to organizations on matters pertaining to national energy policy. Dr. Izzo also shares his leadership and expertise outside of the energy industry, serving as Chair of the New Jersey Chamber of Commerce and as a member of the Rutgers University Board of Governors.

Rutgers University’s 20th President, Robert Barchi, M.D., Ph.D. will be honored as Educator of the Year. Dr. Barchi was selected for his leadership in overseeing the largest higher education merger in U.S. history and formation of Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences (RBHS), a major new health care education, research and clinical division at Rutgers University.  Rutgers merger combined with the creation of RBHS has greatly improved New Jersey’s STEM economy, increasing capacity in STEM in higher education and opening the door for more partnership opportunities between STEM industry and academia.

The 35th Patent Award Ceremony & Reception will take place at the Liberty Science Center. The Liberty Science Center is home to the nation’s largest IMAX Theater, where a short original film will pay tribute to the work of each of the patents and the inventors.

“This year’s ceremony will honor three notable individuals and dozens of exceptional inventors with our 2014 Edison Patent Awards, recognizing each recipient for revolutionizing the world we live in through their broad range of inventions,” said Council President Anthony S. Cicatiello. “From novel environmentally friendly production methods to enhanced communication systems, recipients encompass an ingenious group that is devoted to research and development, and diverse in their accomplishments.”