2016 Edison Patent Award Films

The Research & Development Council of New Jersey held the 36th Edison Patent Awards Celebration on November 3, 2016 at the Liberty Science Center. A full list of the 2016 Edison Patent Award winning patents can be found here.  You can view each of the 2016 Edison Patent Award winner tribute films by visiting the 37th Edison Patent Awards (2016) playlist on YouTube here.

2016 Individual Award Winners 

Educator of the Year- Nariman Farvardin, President, Stevens Institute of Technology

Science & Technology Medal- Dr. Marcus Weldon, President of Bell Labs and Corporate Chief Technology Officer of Nokia

Chairman’s Award- Caren Franzini, Former CEO, New Jersey Economic Development Authority

2016 Patent Award Winners

AdvanSix (Honeywell) and inventors John V. Facinelli, Clark V. Brown, David J. Loy, Robert A. Houck, Jr., and Dana A. Germain

ExxonMobil and inventors James T. Carey, Angela S. Galiano-Roth, and Gary K. Dudley

Immunomedics and inventors Chien-Hsing Chang, Ph.D., David M. Goldenberg, Sc.D., M.D., Edmund A. Rossi, Ph.D., and Diane Rossi

Lockheed Martin and inventors Valerie Underwood, Lillian Andres, and Travis Lenhart

Merck and inventors Michael Galluppi, Scott Brown, and Peter A. Basile

NJIT and inventors Rajesh N. Dave, Ph.D., Daniel To, Ph.D., and Maxx W. Capece, Ph.D.

Nokia Bell Labs and inventors Ilija Hadzic, Dennis R.Morgan, Zulfiquar Sayeed, Alf Neustadt

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory and inventors Charles Gentile, Adam Cohen, George Ascione

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey received two Edison Patent awards:

Inventors Raphael Mannino, Ph.D. (Rutgers), and Ruying Lu (Matinas BioPharma, a New Jersey biotech company)

Inventors Joseph Goffreda, Ph.D. and Anna Voordeckers

Siemens and inventors Dr. George Lo, Mohammad Abdullah Al Faruque, Hartmut Ludwig, Livio Dalloro, Barry R. Contrael, Paul Terricciano

TE Connectivity and inventors Massimo Manna, Ekaterina A. Golovchenko, and Mark Enright