R&D Council Recognizes 2017 Edison Patent Award Winners and Special Individual Honorees

The Research & Development Council of New Jersey (“Council”) is proud to honor 14 winners of the 2017 Edison Patent Awards. These winners will be honored tonight at the 38th Edison Patent Awards Ceremony & Reception at the Liberty Science Center in Jersey City.

Avaya, BASF, Ethicon, ExxonMobil, Honeywell, Lexicon Pharmaceuticals, Merck, NJIT, Nokia Bell Labs, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, Princeton University, Rutgers University, Siemens and Stevens Institute of Technology will be awarded for innovative patent work spanning 13 R&D categories, including: biomaterials, biomedical, energy, environmental, imaging systems, industrial process, information technology, instrumentation, materials, medical, pharmaceutical, technology transfer and telecommunications.

The R&D Council will also honor the inventor of Solvaldi, a cure for Hepatitis C, Dr. Michael Sofia; former Merck CEO and Regeneron Board Chair, Dr. P. Roy Vagelos; and Bedtime Math Foundation Founder and Overdeck Family Foundation Chair, Laura Overdeck, for their unique contributions to research and development, to growth in business initiative and STEM education.

38th Edison Patent Awards Ceremony & Celebration Full Press Release