2017 Edison Patent Award Winners

The Research & Development Council of New Jersey (“Council”) was proud to honor 14 winners of the 2017 Edison Patent Awards. These winners were honored at the 38th Edison Patent Awards Ceremony & Reception at the Liberty Science Center in Jersey City on November 2, 2017.

Avaya, BASF, Ethicon, ExxonMobil, Honeywell, Lexicon Pharmaceuticals, Merck, NJIT, Nokia Bell Labs, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, Princeton University, Rutgers University, Siemens and Stevens Institute of Technology were recognized for innovative patent work spanning 13 R&D categories, including: biomaterials, biomedical, energy, environmental, imaging systems, industrial process, information technology, instrumentation, materials, medical, pharmaceutical, technology transfer and telecommunications.

The R&D Council also honored the inventor of Solvaldi, a cure for Hepatitis C, Dr. Michael Sofia; former Merck CEO and Regeneron Board Chair, Dr. P. Roy Vagelos; and Bedtime Math Foundation Founder and Overdeck Family Foundation Chair, Laura Overdeck, for their unique contributions to research and development, to growth in business initiative and STEM education.

A full list of the winners and patents for the 2017 Edison Patent Awards can be found here.

All of the 2017 Edison Patent Award winner tribute films can be found on the Research & Development Council of New Jersey’s YouTube channel here.