38th Edison Patent Award Celebration Honoree Tribute Films

The Research & Development Council of New Jersey held its 38th Edison Patent Awards Celebration on November 1, 2017 at the Liberty Science Center.  Three esteemed individuals, 14 research organizations, and nearly 60 inventors were honored.  You can find all of their tribute films here or below.

2017 Individual Award Winners

Science & Technology Award: Dr. Michael Sofia, developed sofosbuvir, brand name Sovaldi, the drug used to cure hepatitis C infection

Chairman’s Award: Dr. P. Roy Vagelos, retired Chairman and CEO of Merck and Chairman of the Board at Regeneron. 

Educator of the Year: Laura Overdeck, Bedtime Math Foundation Founder and Chair of the Overdeck Family Foundation (OFF)

Avaya and inventors Al Baker, Mehmet Balasaygun, Frank Boyle, Gordon Brunson, Benjamin Jenkins,Pamela Lauber, and Thomas Petsche

BASF and inventors Robert McGuire, Jr., Gary M. Smith, and Bilge Yilmaz

Ethicon, a Johnson & Johnson Company, and inventors Howard Scalzo, Jerome A. Fischer, Stephen Rothenburger, Robert Cerwin, and James R. McDivitt

ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company and inventors John Di-Yi Ou, April Ross, Doron Levin, Mohan Kalyanaraman, and Wenyih Frank Lai

Honeywell and inventors Scott Martin Hacker, Ph.D, Yonghong Ruan, Ph.D., and Paul Chi Lem

Lexicon Pharmaceuticals and inventors Bryce A. Harrison, S. David Kimball, Ross Mabon, David B. Rawlins, and Nicole C. Goodwin

Merck and inventors Wensheng Yu, Ling Tong, Joseph A. Kozlowski, Oleg B. Selyutin, Lei Chen, Jae-Hun Kim, Deyou Sha, Razia K. Rizvi, and Banderpalle B. Shankar

NJIT and inventors Treena Arinzeh, Ph.D., Yee-Shuan Lee, Ph.D., and George Collins, Ph.D

Nokia Bell Labs and inventors Peter Winzer and Alan Gnauck

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory and inventors Manfred Bitter, Kenneth Hill, and Philip Efthimion

Princeton University and inventors Craig Arnold, Euan Mcleod, Alexandre Mermillod-Blondin and Christian Theriault

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey and inventors Joachim Kohn, Durgadas Bolikal, Don K. Brandom, Lioubov Kabalnova, and Ernest G. Baluca

Siemens and inventors Dr. Upul P. DeSilva and Dr. Heiko Claussen

Stevens Institute of Technology and inventors Zhihua Yang and Athula Buddhagosha Attygalle